3.8125 5 16
Even Brake Towed Car Braking System
Item No. 30333
Even Brake Towed Car Braking System is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 16.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_30333, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • reviews, product
Images
Even Brake Towed Car Braking System
Details

Even Brake Towed Car Braking System

Even Brake Towed Car Braking System is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 16.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_30333, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 40ms
  • reviews, product
Item No. 30333
$1,275.00 $1,575.00
Save $300.00 ( 19% Off )
15% Off, No Minimum See Details
Additional Information
An even better way to brake your towed vehicle!

Even Brake by Roadmaster is the only portable, proportional towed car braking system that constantly monitors itself, giving you continuous information about system status and function for maximum towing and braking safety. It's a step ahead of all other portable, supplemental towed car braking systems on the market today!

EXCLUSIVE Even Brake Features:

Automatic low battery protection – if the battery voltage drops too low, Even Brake goes into sleep mode, while retaining emergency braking power.

ADDITIONAL Even Brake Features:

. Automatic brake protection – the monitor alerts you after an extended period of continuous braking, then Even Brake releases braking pressure, avoiding excessive wear on the towed vehicle’s brakes.

. Touch pad control panel makes programming fast and easy.

. Adjusts to your braking preferences on braking force and sensitivity; on-board memory remembers settings after you disconnect it.

. Automatically delivers maximum braking pressure in an emergency or a break away situation – Even Brake works the most when you need it the most.

. 20% smaller than other systems, to fit more vehicles-including Jeep Liberty

. Transmitter is incorporated inside the unit

. Only 2 connections in the towed car: power cord and diagnostics feed

When you apply your motorhome's brakes, Even Brake's microprocessor signals a magnetic valve to release a proportionate amount of air pressure against the towed car's brake pedal, slowing the towed car at the same rate as the coach.

Advantages of Even Brake's Proportional Braking:

. Full emergency braking when you need it, no excessive brake wear during normal braking (unlike basic "on or off" systems)

. Stop completely in less time and shorter distance

. Reduced chance of critical brake failure, such as when descending steep mountain grades

Why Use a Supplementary Towed Car Braking System?

. It’s required in most U.S. states and Canadian provinces (Even Brake meets all current U.S. and Canadian requirements)

. Prevents voiding motorhome chassis warranty by towing more than specified limits without supplementary brakes(Workhorse: 1000 lbs. Ford: 1500 lbs.)

. Reduce wear on motorhome brakes, extending their life

. Reduce stress on tow bar, mounting brackets and towed car frame

Even Brake comes complete with an emergency break away system that brings your towed car to a controlled stop if it accidentally separates from the motorhome; an easy-to-read, wireless dashtop monitor with red/yellow/green LED braking condition indicator, LCD text message status explanation and audio emergency alert tone, and the compact, lightweight braking unit that fits easily into virtually any vehicle, including compact SUVs. Requires one-time installation and set-up, available at our SuperCenters nationwide.

See Braking Weights Map document below.
Show moreShow less
  • Full-time proportional braking - Even Brake applies the same braking pressure to your towed car as you apply to your motorhome brakes for consistent braking throughout the stop, with no "drop out" after a few seconds of continuous braking.
  • Constant braking information and system status keeps you in touch with towed car braking capability at all times for maximum towing safety.

  • Continuous self-diagnostic testing – Even Brake is the only supplemental braking system that checks itself, so you don’t have to – a glance at the monitor assures you that Even Brake is fully operational.

  • Terrain-sensing logic – Even Brake adjusts to uphill or downhill grades, and to rough terrain, by automatically leveling itself. Because it’s always level, Even Brake always brakes with maximum efficiency.

  • Three-tier monitor offers red-green-yellow LED display, LCD text message and audio alert to eliminate any guesswork about system status.

Unit Weight 22.45 lb
Brand Roadmaster
MFG Part No. 9400
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Remote Sensor The system works great, and the unit is quite easy to hookup and remove from the tow vehicle once you've done it a time or two. (The actual original installation of the system is very extensive and, in my opinion, best left to paid professionals, however.) Our only problem has been false readings on the remote system inside the motorhome. After braking a few times repeatedly, the remote sometimes indicates that the tow car is still being braked, even though it is not (yes, we have pulled over and checked the system in the tow car). Now, we just unplug and replug the remote from the 12V outlet. This clears the false reading and resets the remote so it is working correctly again.
Date published: 2006-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Even Brake Update After Road Master was told of my problems, they have offered to install there Brake Master system, free of charges, in Vancouver, Washington the next time I travell in that direction, which may be this fall. This system will be hooked up directly to my air brakes on the coach. They feel that possibly that there may have been a wiring problem with the Even Brake at installation. The bottom line is that I am very satisfied with this offer and that they were very willing to come up with a solution to solve my problems. They were very quick to respond to my situation.
Date published: 2010-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Even Brake inconsistent The Roadmaster Even Brake system I purchased often turns the red light on indicating the brakes are being applied in the towed car, but then does not turn the red light off. Also, after two or three days towing a message sometimes appears saying the battery in the towed car is too low and the Even Brake system is going into a reduced functionality mode. The towed car is brand new and the battery checks out as good. The braking part appears to work ok, but the communications between the towed car and the coach is marginal.
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works great I had this unit installed just before a trip to Fl. Worked very well. I did have to do some seat adjusting, but you have to test the unit before operation and this allowed me to see that it was climbing the seat before I hit the road. The bar on the unit can be moved up and down so finding the correct positon was not a problem. This unit worked great on this trip, about 900 miles. Hope it keeps up the good work.
Date published: 2006-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Customer relations - In June, 2006, we purchased a new car (2006 Hyundai Tucson) specifically for towing behind our 2005 Class A 32' motorhome. We left Portland, Oregon, in mid-July and headed East on I-84. Between Portland and Twin Falls, Idaho, the motorhome Evenbrake monitor indicated that the brakes were being applied about 5 times while driving along the highway at about 60 mph. Each time, we drove to the side of the highway, disconnected the system, and re-set it; this seemed to correct the false information indicated on the monitor. About 4 miles West of Twin Falls, while traveling about 60 mph, we heard a "screech", looked in the video monitor, and were shocked to see that the Hyundai was being dragged with locked brakes; the monitor indicated that the brakes were being applied; the motorhome brakes were not being applied. This continued for about 200 yards; we were unable to immediately pull to the side as it was a construction area. Finally, we were able to pull over, re-set the system and go along our way. In Ogden, Utah, we contacted the installer of the system, and after a few calls were told to disconnect the system for the remainder of the trip. The ultimate result was that Roadmaster (through the efforts of the installer) replaced the unit upon our return home, and the new unit works properly without false signals and without applying the brakes except when the motorhome brakes are applied. Not only did we travel about 1,500 miles without a braking system (in violation of the laws of 6 states) ,we had to replace two tires that had become "square" because of the inappropriate braking obviously caused by the Evenbrake unit. Roadmaster seems to have no interest in the cost of the tire replacement, and does not respond to our request for a measly $165 reimbursement. It looks like we will have to resort to Small Claims court to get their attention. (the money is insignificant - the cavalier attitiude and the responsibility of RoadMaster is the issue.)
Date published: 2007-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even Brake I have towed my Honda over 9000 miles and the performance of the Roadmaster Even Brake has been excellent. One time the brake system wanted to climb the seat and that was solved by raising the seat a little. My wife has assumed responsibility for attaching the tow car and installing the brake and she finds it an easy task.
Date published: 2008-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great when it works I am sending my Even Brake back to Road Master for the 3rd time for repairs. Great unit when it works. If it breaks again, I'm going to easy brake or something else. Not sure why it fills and will not release. Same issue both times. Plug another Even Brake unit in and it works, so it is not the computer board.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from completely satisfied I have used for 3 years and a total of 20,000+ miles of usage. Monitor tells me when it is working and even warned me once of a low battery developing in my towed vehicle. Simple to use and I can move it between 2 different vehicles that I tow.
Date published: 2010-11-23
  • y_2020, m_11, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_30333, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 39ms
  • reviews, product

does this unit use the towed vehicles battery exclusively, or does it draw power form the RV?

Asked by: Dave
It would use the towed vehicle's battery
Answered by: CW Victor
Date published: 2020-11-12

Our EvenBrake compressor activates and pressurizes but does not go through the test process. Does not activate brake.

Asked by: Lorine
For troubleshooting inquiries, I would recommend reaching out to Roadmaster directly: https://www.roadmasterinc.com/
Answered by: CW Victor
Date published: 2020-11-12

Compressor runs every 10 to 15 seconds to keep system operating. Why so often when not braking.

Asked by: keith b
Even Brake’s compressor will activate about every 10 minutes due to normal air dissipation. If the compressor activates repeatedly within 10 minutes or less (when not braking), contact ROADMASTER — you may have an air leak in the air cylinder.
Answered by: cw_staff
Date published: 2019-03-08
  • y_2020, m_11, d_30, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_30333, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 39ms
  • questions, product