4.4815 5 27
Hughes RV Autoformer Voltage Boosters & Surge Protector, 30 Amp
Item No. 102449
Hughes RV Autoformer Voltage Boosters & Surge Protector, 30 Amp is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_102449, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 70ms
  • reviews, product
Images
Hughes RV Autoformer Voltage Boosters & Surge Protector, 30 Amp
Details

Hughes RV Autoformer Voltage Boosters & Surge Protector, 30 Amp

Hughes RV Autoformer Voltage Boosters & Surge Protector, 30 Amp is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_102449, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 9ms
  • reviews, product
Item No. 102449
$362.44 $449.99
Save $87.55 ( 19% Off )
$10 off $99+ See Details
Additional Information
3600 watt. 2400 joules surge protection.

Park voltage drops as more RVs are plugged in and demand for power increases, causing appliances and electronics to draw more amps and create more heat due to inadequate voltage. Overheating results in shortened appliance life. Patented Hughes Autoformer constantly boosts power 2%. When shore power drops below 113 volts, it boosts power 10% to keep appliances operating at the correct voltage.

Prevents low voltage circuit breaker pops. Keeps appliance motors from slowly burning out. Increases air conditioner air flow. Brightens lights. Prevents blackouts and brownouts. Easy to see indicator lights. Mfr. 2 year guarantee. Engineered and made in USA.

Meters sold separately.
Show moreShow less
  • Monitors and analyzes shore power
  • Monitors for open neutral and ground
  • Tells you when it’s boosting power
  • Provides surge and spike protection
  • Tells you when to replace surge protection unit
Amperage 30.00 A
Unit Weight 21.00 lb
Brand Hughes Autoformers
MFG Part No. RV2130-SP
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind Purchased my unit the day I purchased my new travel trailer. I use it at every location and sleep better knowing my investment is being protected from any poorly maintained electrical park system. On several occasions the power boost light has activated. On one occasion it detected a defective shore power box that was immediately reported and quickly repaired by the park staff. Why gamble frying your RV for so little cost? At least invest in some form of protection.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy After being a cheapskate and waiting until low power destroyed my roof top air conditioner, we purchased one and it has been with us all summer. No worries how when I see the incoming voltage below 109 volts Would buy another if this one dies
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trips GFCI Breakers They know it always trips GFCI breakers, But you'll never see it written, so you are out of luck using it with those! Their only suggestion (never in writing) is to make a pigtail with the ground removed, but then your entire RV and everyone in it is at risk of shock!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky Relay ..... Relies on a relay for operation. Sometimes it sticks and the AutoFormer shoots out 10% voltage increase ON TOP OF 120vac, meaning 132 volts - maybe more. Way, way too much to safely operate RV appliances. Too much to constantly monitor for me. I returned it.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing else compares, best bang for buck! Can’t beat this for the price! Love the replaceable surge module, 2 yr warranty, the install kit option to keep unit inside your storage compartment out of elements and from being stolen. Best option out there don’t bother shopping around to find a better deal! And camping world has best price, do a online price match inside the store!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my appliances from low voltage Out of the 5 Campgrounds we have stayed at 1 had low voltage, & this boosted the power to the correct levels. I would of never known that the power was low & hurting the motor on my appliances had it not been for this. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Updates Needed to Work Does not work on campgrounds with GFI 30 amp breakers. Hughes is aware of this issue and said they are working to fix it. That would have been nice to know before hand!!!!!!
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great We used this on a recent trip and it performed perfectly. As a test, we connected it to a 20-amp outlet and it immediately tripped the circuit breaker - this tells me that it was boosting the current the way it was supposed to. It's very heavy for its size, so if you are close on weight, you may want to consider a lighter device.
Date published: 2019-10-09
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_102449, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Can the Hughes 30 be mounted inside the Trailer. Or does it have to b e at the Power Pedestal? Thinking of Buying the Unit.

Asked by: Dave
Hughes Autoformers offers an installation kit so you can keep the Autoformer inside a compartment. We have the 30amp kit listed as SKU# 72456 and have linked the install instructions below. Hughes Autoformers, 30amp Install Kit Instructions: https://hughesautoformers.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/30-AMP-INSTALL-KIT-MODIFIED.pdf
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2020-01-14

This weighs 21 lbs. Does it plug into the campground pedestal? And then sit on the ground? Does the RV then plug into the surge adapter?

Asked by: bubbalips
Yes, the Autoformer plugs in to the campground pedestal, then the RV's power cordset is plugged in to the receptacle on the side of the Autoformer. The surge protection module is actually an internal component of the Autoformer and not a separate piece of hardware that has to be plugged in. The manufacturer instructs to place the Autoformer on a solid surface as opposed to being directly on the ground and use a pail or bucket to cover the unit as it is not waterproof. A demonstration video is linked below. https://youtu.be/deQUv5pHLYA
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2019-06-25

Can you use this to plug into your house outlet

Asked by: beth15
No, this voltage booster & surge protector has an RV 30amp plug on the end designed to be plugged in to the power pedestal at a campground. A residential home does not have a matching NEMA TT-30 receptacle. A separate outlet box, like SKU#20811, has to be wired to a home to have an RV 30amp power outlet.
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2019-06-25

Does this include a plug in meter like the old one did?

What all comes with this nit? plug-in voltmeter? Locking system?
Asked by: Jimvin49
No, an AC voltage meter is not included.
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2019-06-25

I have a 50amp rig, and plug into 30amp sites alot, how will this help and which one should I buy

Asked by: Anonymous
Per the manufacturer: "If your RV has a 4-wire power cord, you should use a 50-amp Autoformer. If your RV has a 3-wire power cord, use a 30-amp Autoformer. Always use the highest amperage power source available. You can convert to a lower amperage outlet by using appropriate adaptors, for example: a 50-amp Autoformer can run on a 30 or 20-amp power source. Of course, you will be restricted to that lower amperage, but the Autoformer will boost the voltage when necessary. Be careful not to overload the lower amperage power box."
Answered by: cw_staff
Date published: 2019-04-20

Is this model RV2130 or the new RV2130SP model?

Reference Catalog Item # 102449, Is this model RV2130 or the newer RV2130SP model?
Asked by: Anonymous
This unit is the RV2130SP.
Answered by: cw_staff
Date published: 2019-03-08

What is the NEMA rating is it for outdoor use?

Asked by: Rodney
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_102449, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • questions, product