4.6071 5 28
Southwire Portable Surge Guard with Diagnostics, 50-Amp
Item No. 102468
Southwire Portable Surge Guard with Diagnostics, 50-Amp is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 35.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_102468, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • reviews, product
Details

Southwire Portable Surge Guard with Diagnostics, 50-Amp

Southwire Portable Surge Guard with Diagnostics, 50-Amp is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 35.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_102468, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • reviews, product
Item No. 102468
$99.00 $194.49
Save $95.49 ( 49% Off )
Product Actions
Product Actions
Additional Information
Designed to handle the high-power consumption demands of today's RV campers, the 50A Portable Surge Guard analyzes circuits to identify power supply status. This unit checks for open ground, open neutral, correct polarity, and reversed lines/ground. The weather-resistant Surge Guard features a surge protection indicator and thermal sensor to indicate overheating plug/receptacle. High-gauge brass construction provides years of reliable use. Plugs directly into the power pedestal with no pigtail for plugging in the cord.

Features
• Handles the high-power consumption of campers
• Analyzes circuits to identify power status
• Checks for open ground, correct polarity, and more
• Convenient Easy-T-Pull plug handles
• High-gauge brass construction
Show moreShow less
  • Handles the high-power consumption demand of RV campers
  • Analyzes circuits to identify power status
  • Checks for open ground, open neutral, correct polarity, and reverse lines/ground
  • Surge protection indicator and thermal sensor
  • High-gauge brass construction
Amperage 50.00 A
Unit Weight 2.75 lb
Brand Southwire
MFG Part No. 44290
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surge Guard Protector This is my second surge protector by Surge Guard. Impressed with its high quality construction and reliability. Its more compact design is convenient, but presents one drawback. There is no convenient way to secure the item to prevent theft or unauthorized removal. I have to use a cable lock around the protector and the pedestal to secure it. The previous model had a pigtail design which allowed use of the Surge Guard Security Box that went around the plugs to prevent disconnecting the protector from the RV power cord.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right product for the job Product arrived very fast. It worked as advertised. easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time user of surge device in 15 years. Shipping was excellent received it when we were told it would be here. I have only used it twice since receiving the device but so far everything has been fine. The trailer cord fits snug in the receptacle part of the spd, the lights light up on the spd when it is plugged into the pedestal letting you know the pedestal is wired correctly. To early to give it a 5 but time will tell.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Surge protection defeated by rain This is a good surge protector for the money. However, it rained hard one night, and water got in the plug housing, resulting in shorting and tripping the breakers in the mortar coach, which sort of defeats the purpose of a surge protector.
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as described! Product works as described. Haven't used it with a defective outlet yet but based on other reviews I'm confident it will protect my electrical system in my motorhome.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from keyman69 Surge guard works great. But, the surge guard universal lock hasp I ordered also only works with the dog bone style surge guard. Not very universal is it.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Heavy Duty. It seems to work fine, the lights are easy to read. I did have a problem on one power box, the heavy wire would not bend enough to clear an obstruction below the box, which was a design flaw by the park electrician and not the surge protector. That is just something to look for in campsites.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surge Guard Went camping for the first time with it, loved how it showed you the hookup was right. Did not have any surges with it. We had a lighting hit last year on our old camper, not sure if this would help, but do not want to have another main board and microwave get fried.
Date published: 2020-08-30
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_102468, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • reviews, product

I have Welmar Grand Star 3750 and was wondering if stock #102468 surge protector is the correct one to purchase?  Also to assure that the protector is not stolen, what do I need to order for a lock box?

Asked by: Dda52013
We, unfortunately, do not have a reference system that will list all specs by RV year/make/model. You will have to look at the plug on the end of the shore power cordset or check the main breaker on the power center in the RV to determine what amperage the electrical system is. Because the product image is an early version, it does not display the anti-theft tab on the plug side of the Surge Guard. The hole in the anti-theft tab will allow you to run a cable lock(like item# 28564) through it or can use a padlock and chain combination to secure the Surge Guard from theft.
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2021-01-29

Is this unit weatherproof

Asked by: oldy
This product is weather resistant(rainproof) so it can be used in most outdoor environments but should not be submerged in water.
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2021-01-30

Will the same light indicators be green whether I am plugged into 50 or 30 ?

Asked by: Anonymous
If the adapter plugs or pigtails are properly made, yes the indicator lights will work normally.
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2021-01-29

We are changing RVS from a 50 amp to a 30 amp. We currently have portable surge protector 50 amp #102468. Will we still be able to use this surge protector or will we need the 30 amp version?

Asked by: MRS JJB
Of course you will require 30 amp - none of the plugs are the same and rhe power is entirely different!!
Answered by: Markfl
Date published: 2021-08-29

Will any/all of the 50 Amp surge protectors function properly if they are plugged into a 30 Amp outlet with an adapter cable?

Asked by: Donald
Yes, the manufacturer of these RV surge protectors design them so that they will still operate properly when using a power outlet adapter(i.e. plugging 50amp surge protector in to a 30amp receptacle with an adapter).
Answered by: CW Steven
Date published: 2021-09-03

Hang at an angle?

Does unit have to hang straight up and down or can it lay at an angle on the ground
Asked by: Anonymous
This does not have to be angled any certain way.
Answered by: cw_staff
Date published: 2019-03-08

Does this unit reset it self?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, this unit will automatically reset.
Answered by: cw_staff
Date published: 2019-03-08
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_102468, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_campingworld
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 53ms
  • questions, product